ATmega328P MCU with Arduino Uno bootloader

Just want to hang out with other Makers and chat about stuff? This is the place to do it.
Post Reply
mjbennetts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:32 am

ATmega328P MCU with Arduino Uno bootloader

Post by mjbennetts » Wed Dec 18, 2013 12:01 am

Hi,

I recently purchase the ATmega328P MCU with Arduino Uno bootloader from Jaycar Electronics and wired it up on a breadboard as per "Build your own Breadboard Arduino" at http://www.freetronics.com/pages/tutori ... rd-arduino.
However, when uploading sketches the IDE finally shows an error: "stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00".

I'm using an FTDI USB to UART adaptor with TX-->RX, RX-->TX, DTR-->RST (via 0.1uf cap and 10K pullup).

I put the MCU in my AVR Dragon to check it was okay, which it is, but I don't think the fuses are set correctly. Here are the details of the chip:

Code: Select all

Detected device
===============
Device names: ATmega328P, ATA6614Q
Device signature: 0x1E950F

Datasheet information
====================
ATmega328P
CPU: AVR8
Flash size: 32 Kbytes
EEPROM size: 1 Kbytes
SRAM size: 2 Kbytes
VCC range: 1.8 - 5.5 V
Maximum speed: N/A

Fuse Settings
============
BODLEVEL = DISABLED
RSTDISBL = [ ]
DWEN = [ ]
SPIEN = [X]
WDTON = [ ]
EESAVE = [ ]
BOOTSZ = 2048W_3800
BOOTRST = [ ]
CKDIV8 = [X]
CKOUT = [ ]
SUT_CKSEL = INTRCOSC_8MHZ_6CK_14CK_65MS

EXTENDED = 0xFF (valid)
HIGH = 0xD9 (valid)
LOW = 0x62 (valid)

Lock Bits
========
LB = NO_LOCK
BLB0 = NO_LOCK
BLB1 = NO_LOCK

LOCKBIT = 0xFF (valid)
I wasn't expecting to see the clock setting of "INTRCOSC_8MHZ_6CK_14CK_65MS", is this correct?

After a little bit of research, for Uno I'm led to believe the settings should be:

Code: Select all

EXTENDED = 0x05 
HIGH = 0xDE 
LOW = 0xFF 
It appears as though I have a chip with the wrong fuse settings!

Regards,
Matt

mjbennetts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:32 am

Re: ATmega328P MCU with Arduino Uno bootloader

Post by mjbennetts » Wed Dec 18, 2013 1:35 am

Using the AVR Dragon and steps from: http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=125622.0 but with high voltage programming instead, I've now got a working breadboard Arduino Uno.

Regards,
Matt

andrew
Freetronics Staff
Freetronics Staff
Posts: 978
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:06 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ATmega328P MCU with Arduino Uno bootloader

Post by andrew » Wed Dec 18, 2013 7:20 am

That's quite odd, we haven't heard of this happening before.

If anyone including yourself has this problem with a brand new MCU please email support@freetronics.com and we'll organise a replacement for you.

Post Reply