EtherTen & RTC module How to fit?

The EtherTen combines an Uno-equivalent Arduino-compatible board and Wiznet-based Ethernet support, along with a microSD card slot and Power-over-Ethernet support. [Product page]
Post Reply
Rol
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:36 am

EtherTen & RTC module How to fit?

Post by Rol » Thu Aug 16, 2012 6:57 am

Hi,
How does one actually fit the RTC module (XC4272) to the EtherTen board?
Have looked every-where.
Thanks,
Rol

ngp99
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:53 am
Location: Dee Why NSW

Re: EtherTen & RTC module How to fit?

Post by ngp99 » Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:25 am

It won't fit on the Ether Ten. You could use flying leads but I couldn't find anything suitable and the module doesn't have bolt holes for separate mounting. So I think the best bet is to install it on the bare proto board that is specifically made for the Ether Ten. You will be surprised how big an RTC gets to be when it is mounted on that board, so plan before you solder, unlike me....

I am getting the Jaycar header HM3212 for this purpose. Some RTCs come with the header included. I think the bare shield is about the only practical option for adding anything to the Ether Ten, but I guess you could use the stackable headers for that board just by themselves as spacers, thereby allowing you to use a larger proto shield.

The thing you don't get to hear much about with RTCs is their height. The length of the pins on any shield you want to put on top could be important. The pins on the stackable header are a millimetre or so longer than most, and that might be useful.

Rol
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:36 am

Re: EtherTen & RTC module How to fit?

Post by Rol » Fri Aug 17, 2012 2:51 am

OK Thanks guys.
Image

This is how I am going to try do it.
With the pins through the board, all should be inline.
Appreciate your comments.

ngp99
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:53 am
Location: Dee Why NSW

Re: EtherTen & RTC module How to fit?

Post by ngp99 » Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:06 am

I don't know what that board is that you show. It appears to have no pins.

If that is the case, then clearly you have no intention of fitting it to the Ether Ten. Problem is that there is no indication of how it would be installed anywhere. Maybe it just waves around in the breeze, or you are handy with a glue gun.

If it does have pins, it is about five holes too long to fit on the Ether Ten. As I said above, using the stackable headers as spacers may suffice, or use the proper proto board for the job.

Rol
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:36 am

Re: EtherTen & RTC module How to fit?

Post by Rol » Fri Aug 17, 2012 8:35 am

Hi ngp99,

It does have pins, they are just not too evident in the photo so I could go that route.
The rest of the project will probably go on a bread-board although once the prototype is up & running will attempt to fit it all in the stack.

For interest sake the build is at:
http://www.reeffrontiers.com/f12/anothe ... ndex4.html

ngp99
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:53 am
Location: Dee Why NSW

Re: EtherTen & RTC module How to fit?

Post by ngp99 » Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:18 pm

Hi

Yes, I now realise it has pins, I guess they were sticking into the fabric, hence the shadow close to the board. I saw it in Jaycar this afternoon.

Rol
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:36 am

Re: EtherTen & RTC module How to fit?

Post by Rol » Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:21 am

OK Success , bridged underneath with jumpers.
Rest of the project will go on a breadboard until I can work it into the stack.
Vcc ---------------------------------- 5v
Gnd ---------------------------------- Gnd
SWQ (not used)
SCL ---------------------------------- Analog Pin 5
SDA ---------------------------------- Analog Pin 4
Image
Image

Rol
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:36 am

Re: EtherTen & RTC module How to fit?

Post by Rol » Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:31 pm

Ok Managed to mount the RCT to the project board.
Image
Image

Post Reply