Page 1 of 1

New to EtherTen

Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 12:10 am
by Retired
I purchased an EtherTen some time ago and while familiar with electronics I am at loss with using the EtherTen. I have the EtherTen connected to my computer along with a USB and ethernet connection.
I've downloaded the EtherTen application, compiled and loaded it without any problems.
Ive changed the IP address setup from 192.168.1.177 to 192.168.0.68, I also included a delay of 50ms as per freetronics data sheet.

Using my web browser, Firefox and using 192.168.0.68, after several seconds of no response I get "The connection has timed out". Using the IP address 192.168.1.68 has proved to be no better.

I then tried pinging the IP address only to be responded with

Pinging 192.168.0.68 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.0.2: Destination of host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.2: Destination of host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.2: Destination of host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.0.2: Destination of host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.68:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received =v, lost = 0 <0% lost>

I cant explain the reply address 192.168.0.2 ????

I am at loss as to how to proceed. Ive tried a Google search but have not turned up anything constructive.......Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Retired

Re: New to EtherTen

Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 6:23 am
by andrew
Could you please try again however using external power via the DC socket and removing the USB? Sometimes the Etherx boards don't get enough current via USB when using Ethernet.

Re: New to EtherTen

Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 7:22 am
by Retired
Hello Andrew,

Thank you for your reply.
I tried as you suggested both for 192.168.0.68 & 192.168.1.68. In the first case sending 192.168.0.68 I got "destination unreachable" but 4 packets sent & received. In the second I got "Request timed out" all as before. Via the browser I got same results. It seems having the USB connected has no effect. I am wondering if my internet provider might be part of the problem.

Cheers John

Retired

Re: New to EtherTen

Posted: Sat Nov 28, 2015 8:26 am
by Retired
Hi Andrew,
AS per my reply last; could having a dynamic address for my router be part of the problem?


John

Re: New to EtherTen

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:30 am
by andrew
If you are pinging from an external device then yes, you would need a static IP.
However if you have a "typical" (for example) home setup ... say a modem/router that has your EtherTen connected to it - you need to change the IP address to match your modem/router's IP.
For example my home modem/router from iinet is set to be 10.1.1.1, so I would set the IP in the EtherTen sketch to 10.1.1.99. Then I can ping the EtherTen from a local (home) computer using 10.1.1.99.

However if I want to contact it from the outside world, a static IP address is needed and some port-forwarding etc.
Visit:
http://tronixstuff.com/2013/12/06/ardui ... -ethernet/
and scroll down to "Accessing your Arduino over the Internet" for some example thought.

Re: New to EtherTen

Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 3:46 am
by waterboom123