pulse generator

The "Eleven" is our Uno-equivalent Arduino-compatible board, but with a number of improvements including prototyping area, a mini-USB connector, LEDs mounted near the edge, and the D13 LED isolated using a FET. [Product page]
saeed

pulse generator

Post by saeed » Tue Aug 27, 2013 1:59 am

Hi All,

I am new to whole game of Arduino! just got my Eleven board and trying a project on it.
I want to simulate few field instruments. To start we have a valve and a meter which generates two pulses based on the flow in the pipe. Two pulses have 90d difference to detect direction of flow.

Valve is a digital one and has two inputs which can make 3 different flow demand stage (4th state is not used). They are Opening, Closing or Hold ( this is just normal way a digital valve works I added for clarification). That means i need to change the frequency of pulses based on the inputs. Maximum freq ideally would be 1kHz but if it turns out to be too much, with some compromises half of that would be okay too.

Now to generate pulse train I am using Sin() function which is standard way of making it and it works fine in C# on my PC. But here seems it is a bit too much to process in each cycle. below is simplified version of what I have tried. I had feedback inputs in as well but no luck so took them out. I don't get a consistent result for below program.

I also have tried delay() function to do the same but it puts all functions on hold so is not a good thing if we have few different things going on at the same time.

So my questions are:
1- Is there anyone else here has tried similar thing and have got better results?
2- What is the maximum freq. we can expect from Eleven ? ( any other boards that might be significantly better?)
3- How long it takes to loop() function to re-start again? I know it will be depending on how big is that but any standard figures with standard assumptions would be helpful.
4- Any better ways you can suggest to do this?