Help needed please

The "Eleven" is our Uno-equivalent Arduino-compatible board, but with a number of improvements including prototyping area, a mini-USB connector, LEDs mounted near the edge, and the D13 LED isolated using a FET. [Product page]
kila2000

Help needed please

Post by kila2000 » Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:52 pm

Hi
I'm totally new to Arduino and hobby electronics as a whole really. However, I have been building a model of Star Treks Deep Space 9 and I have lit it with LEDs and fibre optics.
Here what I want to do, I built the station with a total of 11 different light circuits for different sections of the station. From a control board I'd like to be able to manually switch on different sections of my choosing but also have a 'mains' switch that will turn on EVERY light regardless of the manual switches. But, I'd ALSO like to have an automated lighting sequence that would light the model in a certain way and, if possible, accompanied by music. It all sounds doable in my mind but I don't know the first thing about doing this other than hooking up the LEDs to switches and a power supply.
Is the Eleven board capable of controlling my automated lighting sequence and if so, won't it be an easy thing to do? Also, is it possible to have the 3 lighting techniques I mentioned?
Please keep in mind I'm a total novice but any help/advice I can get would be most appreciated.

Thanks
Wil

csconsulting

Re: Help needed please

Post by csconsulting » Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:17 am

You would be able to do this, however you are going to need a fair few outputs.
You can either use the atmega with its more output pins, or use an eleven with a shift register module to give you more outputs.
That will make the code a bit more difficult though.

For the control system you could use the LCD shield with its buttons, or use a few push buttons to change the sequence.

The most difficult part of your program is to define what sequences of lights you actually want.