Page 1 of 1

LeoStick install and first time use - Mac OS X

Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2012 2:34 pm
by marc
LeoStick installation and first time use.Please check this out before plugging in your LeoStick for the first time, we keep known issues and workarounds here.
-------
Installation and setup on Mac OS X:

LeoStick Getting Started Guide:
http://www.freetronics.com/pages/leosti ... rted-guide

Currently no known problems with Mac support for the LeoStick.

Re: LeoStick install and first time use - Mac OS X

Posted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 8:51 am
by bricabracwizard
The Mac only loads the blink program the first time you use the LeoStick. Then when you try to load another sketch the Mac can't find the port. To overcome this problem after reading so many threads and other peoples problems I finally found a solution that worked for me. After compiling the sketch click on upload then reset the LeoStick immediately. This worked for me and after doing this a number of times it started to work without doing this.

Re: LeoStick install and first time use - Mac OS X

Posted: Sun Apr 27, 2014 4:36 am
by DannyV
Hi Folks, I'm using Max OS X IDE version 1.5.6-r2 (On Mac 10.9.3)
In order to get my LeoStick board to appear in the IDE Boards list, I had to do the following:
  • Find the /MacBookPro/Applications folder
    Find the Arduino.app and right click on it
    Select 'Show package contents'
    Click on 'Contents' , 'Resources', 'Java', 'hardware'
    Make a new directory called 'LeoStick'
    in that directory, make a new directory called 'ave'
    in that directory, pact the contacts of the downloaded 'LeoStick' directory (i.e
    'boards/txt', 'boot loader', and 'cores' items).
close and reopen the IDE.

Re: LeoStick install and first time use - Mac OS X

Posted: Mon May 26, 2014 6:39 am
by angusgr
DannyV wrote:Hi Folks, I'm using Max OS X IDE version 1.5.6-r2 (On Mac 10.9.3)
In order to get my LeoStick board to appear in the IDE Boards list, I had to do the following:
*snip*
Hi Danny,

I'm glad you got it working. The LeoStick still doesn't support the 1.5.x beta releases of the IDE, but if this works then that's excellent news.

Previously the Arduino team were actively changing the board profile format, although that seems to be settled now so we can probably make a 1.5.x compatible LeoStick release shortly as well. If a 1.5 final release appears then we will definitely make one.

- Angus

Re: LeoStick install and first time use - Mac OS X

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:20 am
by duddled
I can't get my LeoStick to work with Arduino IDE 1.6
I tried what DannyV said, I can select the board but when compiling I get the following error:
Arduino: 1.6.0 (Mac OS X), Board: "Freetronics LeoStick V2.0"

Selected board depends on 'arduino' core (not installed).

Re: LeoStick install and first time use - Mac OS X

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:04 am
by angusgr
We're working at the moment to get a 1.6.0 board profile tested. Unfortunately it seems there is a bug in the Arduino IDE on some platforms that may hold us up. Sorry for the inconvenience.

We'll have an official board profile released ASAP.

Re: LeoStick install and first time use - Mac OS X

Posted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:10 am
by angusgr
... and 1.6 support is released! viewtopic.php?f=27&t=6208

Re: LeoStick install and first time use - Mac OS X

Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:24 am
by Kurt_R
I am getting this, (core not installed) error on Windows 10 as well.
There are also two different version entries for the Leostick in Win 10.

I tried the latest hardware profile and still have the same trouble.

Do you guys have any ideas what might be going on here?

Re: LeoStick install and first time use - Mac OS X

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 4:13 am
by angusgr
It sounds like you have a pre-1.6 version of the board profile installed. These are not compatible with Arduino 1.6 or newer, the formats have changed.

Try deleting any board profile you've already installed (from under the Documents/Arduino directory), then re-download and reinstall the latest version of the LeoStick board profile.

Re: LeoStick install and first time use - Mac OS X

Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:49 am
by ChrisH
Hi,
I have a Leostick V1 which I got going a year or so ago, and managed to load the blink program onto it. Now I am trying to start using it again but am having problems.

I have loaded the profile and, using IDE V1.0.5 I (recommended for the older sticks I understand) I can select the Board as 'Freetronics Leostick V1.0.

BUT the serial port does not show up under the Serial Port menu item. All I get is some bluetooth related ports (dev/tty.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port and dev/cu.Bluetooth-Incoming-Port). I am now using an iMac running Sierra 10.12.4, but would have been using a different version of the OS when I first got the stick going.

I may have mucked up the install by also installing the FTDI drivers for Mac (thinking they were required) before I loaded the profile etc.

Any advice gratefully received.