Page 1 of 1

All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:26 am
by PeterG
Bought the LCD & Keypad Shield a while ago but got sidetracked and never did anything with it. I pulled it out of a drawer today plugged it in and all I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty.

That was running off of macbook usb...so I look at the Quickstart on this sight and I see that it might need more power...I plug in a 9V adapter as per instructions and I get the same thing.

Is it cactus? Is there any trick to resurrect it?

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 5:57 am
by andrew
Hello Peter

If you have the shield plugged into a non-Ethernet board of ours it doesn't need external power.
That display effect (top line on, bottom off) usually appears when power but no signal is going to the LCD. If you haven't already done so, could you please try the "minimal display example" sketch in:
http://www.freetronics.com.au/pages/16x ... tart-guide
and let me know how you get on.
John

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 9:47 pm
by PeterG
John, thanks for your reply.

I don't know what that ethernet board is that you are talking about.

That minimal display example was exactly the thing I was trying to run.

Currently I am using

Arduino 1.6.1 IDE
The arduino board from freetronics arduino experimenters kit connected to the USB on my MacbookPro
and the LCD & Keypad Shield

This is what I get
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/846 ... G_1109.JPG

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Posted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 9:55 pm
by andrew
Ow, that isn't right. You may have a faulty one.
Please email support@freetronics.com for a resolution.

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:35 am
by PeterG
Just recieved the replacement in the mail...I have a beautiful 'hello, world' on my screen. thank you.

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:42 am
by andrew
Excellent, thank you for letting us know.

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:29 am
by bobbyd
I am having the same problem, tried voltage issues but no success can anybody help?

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:31 am
by andrew
Any chance you can post a photo of it? Or email to support@freetronics.com

Re: All I get is the top line Filling and Bottom line empty

Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2015 7:42 am
by bobbyd
just emailed picture, thanks