Page 1 of 1

Arduino Due

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 6:35 am
by rebboc
Does anyone know if the LCD & Keypad shield is compatible with the Arduino Due board?

Re: Arduino Due

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 9:45 am
by cef
I know that Jon just recieved a Due, so I'm sure he'll pipe up in due course.

Re: Arduino Due

Posted: Sat Jan 12, 2013 11:09 am
by rebboc
Thanks for that. I've had a Due for about three weeks, and have a project coming up where using the LCD shield will save having to have a PC to display stuff. I have an LCD shield that I have used with an Etherten and with a Uno, but I was not sure about possible voltage differences with the Due and the likelihood of damaging one or the other. Sounds as though it should be fine.

I was also wondering, what is the significance of the Nixie tubes avatar?

Re: Arduino Due

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:48 pm
by rebboc
I just checked the schematics. As I see it, there are two possible solutions (at least).

1. Work out how to connect the keypad switches to Aref so that they are automatically scaled to the range of the ADC on whatever board the LCD shield is plugged into, or

2. Design a "signal Adaptor" shield with offset headers and pins, and pads for connecting zeners and resistors or other circuitry to adapt voltages between boards. This would have more general appeal and would ensure that there could be no accidental damage.

"Sometime in the past" we replaced a panel of numbered lights with four nixie tubes - we thought we were ever so cool and really "space age". I still think their 3-D appearance has something that is lacking in a flat display.

Re: Arduino Due

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 1:18 pm
by dougalm
Hi All,

Relatively new at this Arduino game but am enjoying the challenges (brings me back to my Z80 days). :D

I too am trying to connect the LCD & Keypad shield to an Arduino Due board.
I have used 2 level converter modules to interface and reduce the voltage to the Due inputs.
This works well except for the select button. :(
When I measure the voltages on the "High" side I see the change (pressing select it drops to 3.82 volts) but there is nothing on the "Low" side.

Here are the voltages as measured:
Hi Input: 4.98V
Lo Input: 3.29V

Right: Hi-0V Lo-0V
Up: Hi-0.897V Lo-0.898V
Down: Hi-1.912V Lo-1.914V
Left: Hi-2.733V Lo-3.097
Select: Hi-3.820V Lo-0V

Any ideas as to what might be causing it?
If I cannot get the select to work I will have to think about how a menu system would work.

Regards,
Dougal.

Re: Arduino Due

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2014 9:12 pm
by andrew
dougalm wrote:Hi All,

Relatively new at this Arduino game but am enjoying the challenges (brings me back to my Z80 days). :D

I too am trying to connect the LCD & Keypad shield to an Arduino Due board.
I have used 2 level converter modules to interface and reduce the voltage to the Due inputs.
This works well except for the select button. :(
When I measure the voltages on the "High" side I see the change (pressing select it drops to 3.82 volts) but there is nothing on the "Low" side.

Here are the voltages as measured:
Hi Input: 4.98V
Lo Input: 3.29V

Right: Hi-0V Lo-0V
Up: Hi-0.897V Lo-0.898V
Down: Hi-1.912V Lo-1.914V
Left: Hi-2.733V Lo-3.097
Select: Hi-3.820V Lo-0V

Any ideas as to what might be causing it?
If I cannot get the select to work I will have to think about how a menu system would work.

Regards,
Dougal.
Have you modified the shield so it's only getting 3.3V? E.g. 3.3V to R6.
(Schematic - http://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0045/8 ... ieldv2.pdf)
If so, pressing select should feed a theoretical 2.39V to A0.

Re: Arduino Due

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 1:30 pm
by dougalm
Hi John,

No I haven't physically modified the LCD shield.
What I have done is place a Freetronics Level Converter Module in between the LCD/Keypad Shield pins and the Due

http://www.freetronics.com/products/log ... ter-module

This works well for everything except the select button.
I have tried different channels on the level converter module but no change.

Has me stumped.

Regards,
Dougal.

Re: Arduino Due

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:54 pm
by cef
The level converter will only convert digital signals.

The analog lines really require you change the reference voltage line as John mentioned.

Re: Arduino Due

Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:27 pm
by dougalm
Oh, OK.
That is a bit of a bugger.
I will have to look at modifying the shield.

Thanks for you assistance.

Regards,
Dougal.